view current print edition






HAB names new chairman, executive committee

The Hass Avocado Board has elected a new executive committee, including a new chairman, after Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue’s appointment of new board members to the HAB.guy

Chairman Chris Henry from Del Monte Fresh Produce is stepping down after two years of service in this role, and will be replaced by Scott Bauwens, a California producer of Hass avocados from Paradise Grove.   

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve as chairman of the board, and am committed to ensuring the priorities outlined in the five-year strategic plan are being upheld,” saidBauwens. “I am confident our board and staff has the talent, experience and commitment to achieve the goals of driving sustainable demand and consumption of fresh avocados in the U.S.”  

Concluding their service on the board are producers Laurie Luschei from Berry-Horton Ranch, Bob Schaar from Rancho Los Lobos, Thomas Escalante from Uncle Herb’s and Mike Adams from Premium Quality California Hand Grown Hass Avocados, as well as importers Gahl Crane from Eco Farms and Jorge Hernandez from London Fruit, who were recognized for their service to the board over the last three years.

Other executive committee positions have been assigned to Vice Chairman Jorge Hernandez, importer; Treasurer re-elect Laurie Luschei, producer; and Secretary re-elect Javier Medina, importer from Mevi Avocados Inc.

Three additional members and seven alternates were chosen to serve. Appointed board members include Susan Pinkerton, producer from Strata Holding LP; Ben Van Der Kar, producer from Pinehill Ranch; and Sergio Chavez, importer from Prometo Produce.

New alternate positions include producers C.J. Shade from Shade Farm Management, Will Carleton from Las Palmitas Ranch, Jeff Dickinson from Dickinson Family Farms, Bob Schaar and Thomas Escalante, and importers Jose Antonio Gomez from Camposol Fresh USA and Nils Goldschmidt from Terra Exports.