view current print edition






AFE announces new officers and appointments

The American Floral Endowment chairman Dwight Larimer, president at Design Master color tool in Denver, announced the appointments of new officers and committee chairmen in a news release.

Jim Daly, vice president at Floralife/Smithers-Oasis in Walterboro, SC, has been named chairman-elect and Laura Shinall, president at Syndicate Sales, Inc. in Kokomo, IN, was appointed treasurer/secretary-elect. Both will assume their new positions next September during the 2018 AFE Annual Fundraising Dinner.

Daly joined the AFE board in 2012 and currently serves as chairman of the Production and Post-Harvest Scientific Research Committee. Throughout his career, he has shared his expertise with top floriculture organizations around the world on topics ranging from postharvest care and handling to global trends in floriculture.

Shinall joined the AFE board in 2011 and also serves on the Society of American Florists board of directors. She is currently chairperson of the AFE Public Relations/Development Committee and serves on the Education Committee.

Greg Royer, president and chief executive officer at Royer’s Flowers & Gifts in Lebanon, PA, has been appointed AFE’s Education Committee chair, and also joins the Executive Committee. The remaining Executive Committee members include past president chairman Gabriel Becerra, president at Golden Flowers in Miami, and Kristi Huffman, senior vice president, horticulture at Multi Packaging Solutions in Grand Rapids, MI.

Royer joined the AFE board in 2015 and he also serves on the Public Relations/Development Committee.

In addition, Randy Tagawa, chief executive officer at Tagawa Greenhouses in Brighton, CO, is the new Vic & Margaret Ball Internship Committee chair. He joined the AFE board in 2013 and he also serves on the Production and Post-Harvest Scientific Research Committee.

For more information, visit