view current print edition




Lane DeVries, president and chief executive officer of Sun Valley Group in Arcata, CA, was reelected chairman of the California Cut Flower Commission at a commission meeting Dec. 12. Mr. DeVries will serve a one-year term ending in December 2013, according to a commission news release.

Other officers, also reelected, who will serve a one-year term are Michael A. Mellano, vice president of production at Mellano & Co. in San Luis Rey, CA, first vice chairman; June Van Wingerden, co-owner of Ocean Breeze International in Carpinteria, CA, second vice chairman; Diana Roy, sales and marketing manager of Resendiz Bros. Protea Growers in Fallbrook, CA, secretary-treasurer; and Chad Nelson, sales manager of Eufloria Flowers in Nipomo, CA, past chairman.

Commissioners for 2013, also reelected, who took office on Dec. 12, are Mr. DeVries; Jennifer Everett, manager of California Floral Greens in Watsonville, CA; Mr. Nelson; Tom Lemus, chief financial officer of Farmers’ West Flowers & Bouquets in Carpinteria; Ms. Van Wingerden; David Van Wingerden, a manager at Westland Floral Co. in Carpinteria; Ms. Roy; and Mr. Mellano.

The public member slot on the commission is vacant; alternate elected for 2013 is Guy Tingos, a deputy commissioner of the Agricultural Commissioner’s Office in Santa Barbara, CA. CCFC staff members are Kasey Cronquist, chief executive officer and ambassador, and Janice Wills Curtis, program business manager.

The CCFC was created by the state legislature to promote California cut flowers and foliage.