view current print edition




Society of American Florist members elected three new members to its board of directors and nine new members of its Retailers, Wholesalers and Growers Councils during its annual meeting in Palm Beach, FL. Council elections took place by mail ballot in July and August, and new board members were elected in voting at Palm Beach.

New board members are grower Dave Self of Wyld West Annuals Inc. in Loxahatchee, FL; wholesaler Bill LaFever of Bill Doran Co. in Rockford, IL; and retailer Robert Aykens of Memorial Florists & Greenhouses Inc. in Appleton, WI.

New Growers Council members elected were Wilja Happé of Farmers’ West Flowers & Bouquets Inc. in Carpinteria, CA; Steve Kennicott of Kennicott Kuts in Waterford, WI; and Jeff Mast of Banner Greenhouses in Nebo, NC. New Wholesalers Council members are Gustavo Gilchrist of Kennicott Bros. Co. in Chicago; Bob Hamacher of Roses & More Inc. in Spokane Valley, WA; and Bob Otsuka of the San Francisco Flower Mart in San Francisco.

New Retailers Council members are Vince Butera of Butera The Florist in York, PA; Mandy Majerik of HotHouse Design Studio in Birmingham, AL; and Peggy Roth of Sweet Pea Floral & Gifts in Parker, CO.  

Robert Williams II of Smithers-Oasis Co. in Kent, OH, will continue in the final year of his two-year term as president. Serving with him on SAF’s executive committee are President-Elect Shirley Lyons of Dandelions Flowers & Gifts in Eugene, OR; Treasurer Dwight Larimer of Design Master Color Tool Inc. in Boulder, CO; and Immediate Past President Leo Roozen, of Washington Bulb Co. Inc. in Mount Vernon, WA, board chairman. SAF Executive Vice President and Chief Executive Officer Peter J. Moran also serves on the executive committee.