view current print edition




Ann Jordan of Ann Jordan Design Consulting in Naples, ME, was installed as president of the American Institute of Floral Designers during the organization’s 2012 National Symposium, Caliente, held in Miami July 12-16. She succeeds Tom Bowling of Fitz Design in Fairfield, OH, as the volunteer leader of the floral design education organization.

AIFD-ELECTS912-ANN-JORDANAnn Jordan, new president of the American Institute of Floral Designers, takes the AIFD gavel from past president Tom Bowling on July 16 at the association’s annual symposium in Miami.Installed as president-elect of AIFD, according to an association news release, was John Kittinger of The Best of Flowers in Lexington, KY. Tim Farrell of Farrell’s Florist in Drexel Hill, PA, was elected as vice president and Suzie Kostick of Rio Rancho, NM, will be AIFD’s new secretary. Richard Salvaggio of Teleflora in Los Angeles will continue as treasurer.

Joyce Mason-Monheim of Tucson, AZ, will continue as membership chairman and Tom Simmons of Three Bunch Palms Productions in Palm Springs, CA, will serve as AIFD’s 2013 Symposium coordinator June 28-July 2 in Las Vegas.

Continuing to serve as directors-at-large are Janet Black of Designs Florist and Interiors in Bethel, ME; Ted Bruehl of The Chocolate Rose in Irving, TX; Mary Linda Horn of Mary Linda Horn Floral Designs in Ostrander, OH; Ms. Kostick; Bill McKinley of Texas A&M University in College Station, TX; and Ken Norman of Colony Florist & Gifts in Franklin Lakes, NJ.

Kevin Coble of Le Fleur in Memphis, TN, was elected to serve as representative for the Southern Chapter, Ron Mulray of the Philadelphia Flower Co. in Philadelphia was elected to serve as the representative for the Northeast Chapter and Marie Ackerman of the Teleflora Education Center in Oklahoma City was elected to serve for the South Central Chapter.

Continuing as regional chapter representatives are Jim Rauch of Unique Designs in Dayton, OH, for the North Central Chapter; Michael Quesada of Kaleidscope Flowers in Santa Barbara, CA, for the Southwest Chapter; and Mike Hollenbeck of Floral Artistry Espresso Garden in Lewiston, ID, for the Northwest Chapter.

Thomas C. Shaner continues as AIFD’s executive director at its headquarters in Baltimore.